Maurizio Pollini, a legend in himself

Maurizio Pollini, a legend in himself


Maurizio Pollini, piano


When & where

Monday 2 September, 8.30 pm
Stresa, Convention Centre                        

Vedi la mappa



€ 70 / € 30

ATTENTION: Maurizio Pollini’s concert on 2 September is not included in the subscription and no discount will be applied.
Under 26: € 10

Visualizza la piantina del Palazzo dei Congressi



J. BRAHMS, Three Intermezzi op. 117
L. NONO, … sofferte onde serene…
L. VAN BEETHOVEN, Sonata per pianoforte n. 31 in la bemolle maggiore, op. 110; Sonata per pianoforte n. 32 in do minore, op. 111

Maurizio Pollini, this evening’s soloist, needs no introduction and his program compares three composers who also reached the peaks of fame in their time.  Beethoven’s op. 106 Hammerklavier is understandably considered one of the most important sonatas ever written, and the Milanese pianist’s interpretation is taken as the absolute reference.  Another of tonight’s items, Luigi Nono’s “…sofferte onde serene…” for piano and magnetic tape, was composed in 1976 and is dedicated to Maurizio and Marilisa Pollini. It is particularly precious, and rarely performed, but is an excellent example of the Venetian composer’s work.
Brahms composed the Tre Intermezzi op. 117 late in his life, in 1892, and they suggest a return to his youthful romanticism, illustrating his ‘debt’ to the masters of the early 19th century.


Supported by






Stresa Convention Centre

Stresa Convention Centre is situated in the heart of the town, few meters from the railway station and from all the most important hotels and restaurants.




Clicca per vedere il video a schermo intero