More tales from Russia

More tales from Russia


Nikolai Lugansky, piano
Russian National Orchestra
Mikhail Pletnëv, conductor


When & where

Sunday 8 September, 8.30 pm
Stresa, Convention Centre                          

Vedi la mappa



S. RACHMANINOFF, Concerto no. 3  for piano and orchestra
D. ŠOSTAKOVIČ, Symphony no. 9

Rachmaninoff’s Concerto per pianoforte e orchestra no. 3 is one of the most virtuoso – and most often played – pieces performed by internationally acclaimed pianists for more than a century. It is notorious for its difficulty, calling for outstanding technique, and also for its length. Stresa Festival is offering an interpretation by a Russian pianist, Nikolai Lugansky, an acknowledged top-rank musician on the worldwide scene. He was a winner of the Tchaikovsky International Piano Competition in Moscow in 1994.
The second part of the concert brings Shostakovich’s Symphony no. 9. Composed in 1945 it was intended to celebrate the Soviet victory in the Second World War. The composer, however, decided on a less monumental tribute, and the Symphony is generally appreciated for its classic-style source of inspiration. Lugansky will be accompanied by the Russian National Orchestra conducted by Michael Pletnëv.

This concert is part of the thematic area Between Classic and Neoclassic.



€ 60 /€ 40 / € 30 / € 20

Under 26:
Music P@ss € 10 per person
Company P@ss € 5 per person (per gruppi di 4 o più amici)

Visualizza la piantina del Palazzo dei Congressi



This concert is part of the subscription Palazzo dei Congressi (6 concerts):
sector A € 150
sector Poltronissima € 200







Stresa Convention Centre

Stresa Convention Centre is situated in the heart of the town, few meters from the railway station and from all the most important hotels and restaurants.



Clicca per vedere il video a schermo intero