Akiko Suwanai, Sinfonieorchester Basel, Ivor Bolton


Akiko Suwanai

Sinfonieorchester Basel

Ivor Bolton

L. van Beethoven, Ouverture da Le creature di Prometeo
W.A. Mozart, Concerto per violino KV 219
F. Schubert, Sinfonia in do magg. “La Grande”

The Stresa Festival 2022 closes with three significant orchestral compositions of the Classic period. To start with, there is the Ouverture to the Creatures of Prometheus, ballet music written by Beethoven in 1801. This piece shows off all the colors of the Sinfonieorchester Basel, conducted by Ivor Bolton, performing for the first time at the Festival.
Mozart was not yet 20 when he composed five Concerti per violino e orchestra. The Festival is offering the fifth, in A major, KV 219, the one played most frequently among those we still have of the great Salzburg composer. On stage this evening will be the violinist Akiko Suwanai, a major interpreter in the international music world. The second part of the program brings Franz Schubert’s Symphony no. 9, The Great”, composed in Schubert’s last years, and performed posthumously in 1839, with Mendelssohn conducting. This is Schubert’s symphonic masterpiece, brilliantly illustrating the outstanding mastery achieved in his maturity.

SF-22---logo-Vinavil-con-dicitura okk

Akiko Suwanai, violin
Sinfonieorchester Basel
Ivor Bolton, conductor


Friday 9 September 2022
8:00 pm

Stresa, Convention Centre
Piazzale Europa, 28838 Stresa (VB)


€ 40 / € 25
Under 26: € 10, € 5


Subscription Palazzo dei Congressi: € 120

Prev project
Scroll up